Skip to main content

SPP2256 related topics at the ICIAM 2023 in Tokyo

Several members of the SPP 2256 are organizers of or speakers in minisymposia at the ICIAM 2023 in Tokyo. Currently the following contributions are planned:

Variational methods for singularities and concentration on low dimensional sets


This mini-symposium focuses on recent developments in the calculus of variations with application to problems in nonlinear elasticity, plasticity, liquid crystals, and foams, with an emphasis on topological defects. Defects play a prominent role, for example, in superfluidity, superconductivity, and plasticity. Low-energy configurations exhibit lower-dimensional concentration patterns; examples include dislocations, vortices, grain boundaries, interfaces, and phase transitions. The aim of the mini-symposium is to bring together experts focusing on different aspects of this common big picture, to promote exchange of ideas, and identify new ways of tackling open problems.

Organizers :

Georg Dolzmann, Adriana Garroni, Lucia Scardia

Speakers Info :

Lia Bronsard (McMaster University)
Vito Crismale (Universita di Roma La Sapienza)
Georg Dolzmann (University of Regensburg)
Duvan Henao (Universidad de O’Higgins)
Raz Kupferman (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
YuNing Liu (New York University at Shanghai)
Mircea Petrache (Pontificia Catolica Universidad de Chile)
Raghavendra Venkatraman (New York University)


Mathematics of thin structures

Abstract :

Many models in mechanics, physics and biology invoke thin structures and physical processes therein. With this minisymposium we intend to bring together mathematicians working on the modeling, mathematical analysis and numerics of such models. Topics of particular interest include variational models for mechanical thin films and rods, e.g., featuring wrinkling, prestrain, microstructure, disclocations and their numerical treatment.

Organizers : 

Patrick Dondl, Stefan Neukamm

Speakers Info :

Patrick Dondl (Albert-Ludwig-University Freiburg)
Martin Kružík (Czech Academy of Sciences)
Pierluigi Cesana (Kyushu University)
Eliot Fried (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology)
Alessandra Pluda (University of Pisa)
Paolo Piovano (Politecnico di Milano)
Diane Guignard (University of Ottawa)
David Padilla-Garza (TU Dresden)